Chat with Us

Love and Summer by William Trevor

Recommended by Asra in Adult Services… Her Synopsis: Miss Connulty is reminded of the painful events that led her to solitude when she witnesses Ellie Dillahan become entangled with Florian Kilderry. An orphan, Ellie was raised in a convent and went on to become employed by Dillahan, a widowed farmer. Despite the absence of affection towards him, Ellie agrees to marry Dillahan when he suggests the idea, seeing marriage as a natural progression in her life. She knows him to be a good and virtuous man that will care for her. But when Florian, an aimless bachelor suddenly appears and shows an interest in Ellie, she discovers for the first time in her life what it means to wish for something. All the while, Miss Connulty keeps a careful eye on Ellie as events unfold, vowing to support her through any trouble that may result. She says: Slow in pace, but rich in detail and description. A literary-style novel that will appeal to readers who have enjoyed the many stories penned by William...

Dreamers of the Day by Mary Doria Russell

Recommended by Tuki in Adult Services… Tuki’s synopsis: What a wonderful way to learn the rich history of countries that make up our current Middle East region. A homey school teacher from Ohio embarks on an adventure after the loss of her family to the great influenza following WWI.  Enjoy Agnes’ travel adventure through Egypt and the Holy Land, and experience the momentous decisions made at the historic Cairo Conference of 1921. She says: I enjoyed this book on many different levels.  It read like a travelogue of Agnes’ experience through Egypt and the Holy Land, but also greatly enhanced my understanding of historical events that currently have relevance in the Middle East...

After You’ve Gone by Jeffrey Lent

Recommended by Asra in Adult Services… Asra’s Synopsis: “Literary-style” novel whose narrative shifts between time periods. Henry Dorn is a professor that suffers a great loss. The experience causes him to seek a renewed sense of self, setting him forth on a journey towards his ancestral home.  Along the journey Henry meets Lydia Pearce, an unusual younger woman. The two begin a relationship that progresses slowly, but surely. Their acquaintance causes Henry to reevaluate love and loss, and what meaning he may find in the days to come. She says: I liked “After You’ve Gone,” but preferred Lent’s previous novel “A Peculiar Grace.” This mainly had to with the surprise ending of this novel, which I think readers will either view as fateful, or without closure. I fell into the latter category, which isn’t to say that the book wasn’t good. It just left me wanting...

The Wild Girl: The Notebooks of Ned Giles, 1932 by Jim Fergus

Recommended by Nancy in Reader Services… Nancy’s synopsis: In 1932 young Ned Giles left Chicago to join Arizona’s Great Apache Expedition, a journey organized by Americans and Mexicans to locate the son of a Mexican rancher who was kidnapped by the Apache Indians. Along the way the group encounters la nina branca, a wild Apache girl who was captured by a local hunter. Ned and 2 of his friends plot to use the girl as a ransom for the kidnapped boy. She says: Fergus writes a fascinating tale of Native Americans told through the diaries of a young man looking for adventure. Fans of Larry McMurtry and Louis L’Amour will like this novel as will anyone who enjoys a good historical...