Chat with Us

The Gun Seller by Hugh Laurie

Recommended by Asra in Adult Services… Asra’s synopsis: Thomas Lang is an out-of-work British intelligence officer tied up in a convoluted case of international espionage. The novel opens with Lang thwarting the murder of an American businessman. How does he know about the attempt? Because he was offered the contract and declined it. Instead, he goes to warn the would-be victim, but somehow manages to land himself in a situation where he ends up looking more like the perpetrator than the hero. It’s an amusing roller-coaster ride from there on out. She said: Hugh Laurie is hilarious as an actor. And lucky for us, he writes as funnily. The hero of the novel, Thomas Lang, makes so much fun of the situations he’s in, that I sometimes forgot to take seriously the graveness of the plot (which is a thrilling one for sure). Make no mistake, while the book is a sort of spoof on the spy genre, Lang is the opposite of Maxwell Smart. He is a very capable and formidable agent – it just so happens that his sarcasm and mocking commentary leave you laughing...

Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons

Recommended by Jeff in Technical Services… Jeff’s synopsis: After finishing school, Flora Post finds herself an orphan with a small inheritance and an unwillingness to earn her own living. She hopes one day to write a novel so spends time collecting material. Flora’s aunt decides to take her in as long as Flora never asks how her uncle wronged her father. She agrees and goes off to Howling to live with the Starkadders on Cold Comfort Farm. He says: Every time someone mentions reading a Jane Austen novel, I want to recommend this book but I hesitate because it seems to parody those types of novels. The main character thinks she has a lot in common with Miss Austen in that she likes everything tidy, pleasant and comfortable and would like to write a book as good as Persuasion. She hopes to solve any problems her relatives may have, such as Ada Doom who saw something nasty in the woodshed, and Adam Lambsbreath who is obsessed with the farm’s cows: Graceless, Aimless, Feckless and...

Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

Recommended by Jeff in Technical Services… Jeff’s synopsis: Pietro Brnwa becomes a hit man after seeking revenge for the murder of his grandparents. Mob Boss David Locano brings him into his family. Peter Brown is an emergency room intern with a hidden past that he would like to keep hidden. That is until his past comes back to haunt him in the form of a patient who agrees to keep silent as long as he survives an operation. He says: A fast-paced, funny, gory novel complete with many medical footnotes some of which may even be true. It’s a cross between Mario Puzo and Robin Cook, or the Sopranos and ER. Fans of Carl Hiaasen and Elmore Leonard should like this as...