Chat with Us

Uncle Janice by Matt Burgess

Recommended by Jeff in Tech Servicesunclejanice

Janice Itwaru is an undercover narc, known as an uncle, in Queens who has a month and 4 drug buys to go before being promoted to detective otherwise she’ll be demoted and put back on patrol. She also needs to take care of her mother who suffers from dementia, reconnect with her estranged father and keep herself together while trying not to blow her cover.

He says:

This is not a typical hero cop novel but a look into the narcotics division where undercover officers have to buy drugs and keep their cover on the outside and deal with bureaucracy and internal investigations on the inside. Recommended for fans of Richard Price and Ed McBain. Also the author’s first novel Dogfight: a Love Story is really good.