Chat with Us

The Wild Girl: The Notebooks of Ned Giles, 1932 by Jim Fergus

wildRecommended by Nancy in Reader Services…

Nancy’s synopsis:
In 1932 young Ned Giles left Chicago to join Arizona’s Great Apache Expedition, a journey organized by Americans and Mexicans to locate the son of a Mexican rancher who was kidnapped by the Apache Indians. Along the way the group encounters la nina branca, a wild Apache girl who was captured by a local hunter. Ned and 2 of his friends plot to use the girl as a ransom for the kidnapped boy.

She says:
Fergus writes a fascinating tale of Native Americans told through the diaries of a young man looking for adventure. Fans of Larry McMurtry and Louis L’Amour will like this novel as will anyone who enjoys a good historical read.